Wednesday, 29 May 2024
New Chairman FBR Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed

Government appoints seventh chairman FBR to Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed

Dr Ashfaq Ahmed has been appointed as the new FBR chairman. This is the seventh time the government is appointing the FBR chairman. He replaces Asim Ahmed — who was appointed four months back.

The federal government has replaced the chairman of the Federal Bureau of Revenue (FBR). The Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry announced in a press conference, four months after it had appointed a new head of the tax regulatory authority of Pakistan.

Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed has been appointed as the new chairman of FBR, the information minister said in a press conference in Islamabad.Previously, the federal government, on April 9, had appointed Member IT Asim Ahmed as the new chairman of the FBR.

This is the seventh time the PTI-led government is appointing the FBR chairman. Later in the day, the Establishment Division issued a notification for Dr Ahmad’s appointment — who is a grade 21 office.

On Tuesday, the government appointed Dr Mohammad Ashfaq Ahmed, a BS-21 officer of Inland Revenue Service (IRS), as new chairman of the FBR. He has also been assigned the additional charge of the secretary of revenue division for a three months or till posting of a regular incumbent, whichever is earlier.

See also  FBR has been asked to be fully digitized by July 2021: PM Says

The FBR issued three notifications after the cabinet approved Mr Ahmed’s appointment as the FBR chairman. He also quit his current position of member (operations) of IRS, which he had been holding for two years along with the post of director general international taxes.

Government changes FBR chairman after four months
Notification of appointment of new chairman FBR – Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed

According to Media reports, that Finance Minister Tarin said that Mr Ahmed was removed due to the recent cyberattack on FBR database. Mr Tarin said that Mr Ahmed was posted as a member of information technology for two years in the FBR, but he did not install sufficient security to protect taxpayers’ data. “Somebody has to take the responsibility,” the minister said in an angry tone.

During the tenure of the PTI government since August 2018, Dr. Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed would be the seventh chairman of the FBR. The earlier chairpersons posted from 2018 till date were Rukhsana Yasmin, Mohammad Jehanzeb Khan, Shabbar Zaidi, Nausheen Javaid Amjad, Muhammad Javed Ghani, and Asim Ahmad.

Top Tax Consultants Tax Return submission Last Date

New Chairman FBR | Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed | Chairman FBR | FBR | Government appoints new Chariman FBR DR Ashfaq Ahmed | Biography of Dr Ashfaq Ahmed New Chairman FBR | Biography |

See also  List of Prize winners of point of sales prize Scheme of FBR Lucky draw Will be held on 15th April 2022
Subscribe Now

Sign up for  Daily Digest and get the best of News for you.

[contact-form-7 id="11414" title="Contact form 1"] - Your Tax Experts and Consultants

Welcome to

Providing Expert Tax Services for Individuals and Businesses

About Us

At, we are dedicated to providing comprehensive tax solutions tailored to meet the needs of individuals and businesses. With years of experience in the industry, our team of tax experts is equipped to handle various tax matters, including tax planning, preparation of tax returns, and compliance.

We strive to stay up-to-date with the latest tax laws and regulations, ensuring that our clients receive accurate and reliable advice. Our commitment to client satisfaction and our in-depth knowledge of the tax landscape make us the trusted choice for all your tax-related needs.

Contact Us

For inquiries or to schedule a consultation, please reach out to us: