Tuesday, 30 May 2023

Steps to Perform Hajj

Steps to Perform Hajj

Seven (7) Steps of Hajj

  • 1 Step – Ihram and Intentions
  • 2 Step – Mina aka “City of tents”
  • 3 Step – Mina to Arafat, 9th day of Dhul-Hijjah
  • 4 Step – Muzdalifah
  • 5 Step – Rami – Stoning the devil
  • 6 Step – Nahr
  • 7 Step – Farewell Tawaf

1st Step – Ihram and Intentions

Making a pure intention and wearing the Ihram are the two of the first essential steps when going for Hajj. After making the niyat, Muslim pilgrims wear the Ihram.

2nd Step – Mina aka “City of Tents”

Situated 5 to 6 km from Makkah, Mina is a small town. Arriving at the tent city of Mina, pilgrims rest there until the following day. Starting with the noon prayer (Zuhr) and ending with the dawn prayer (Fajr).

3rd Step – Mina to Arafat, 9th Day of Dhul-Hijjah

On the morning of the second day of Hajj that is 9th Dhul-Hijjah, the pilgrims start walking towards Arafat while reciting Talbiyah at the top of their voices. Muslim pilgrims observe Zuhrain – a combination of Zuhr and Asr prayer with Qasar prayer upon reaching the mount of Arafat. Known as Waquf – the act of standing before Allah (SWT). Observes near the Jabal al-Rahmah from noon to sunset.

4th Step – Muzdalifah

The pilgrims’ next destination for Hajj is Muzdalifah, a small town located between Mina and Mount Arafat. Upon arriving at sunset on the grounds of Muzdalifah, the pilgrims offer Maghribaen – a combined prayer of Maghrib and Isha. Muslims spend one whole night under the open sky and collect 49 pebbles of similar sizes for the ritual of Rami (stoning of the Devil). They then leave the town of Muzdalifah on the morning of 10th Dhul-Hijjah.

5th Step – Rami (Stoning the Devil)

On arriving at Mina, pilgrims perform the act of Rami by stoning the Jamraat al-Aqabah. Seven stones are thrown at the column structure. The stoning of Jamrat is performed in the memory of the act of Prophet Ibrahim (AS) when the devil tried discouraging him from following Allah (SWT) command. In reply, Prophet Ibrahim (AS) threw small pebbles to make the devil go away. Rami should be carried out at noon each day. Rami is performed on the 11th and 12th of Dhul-Hijjah.

READ ALSO: Hajj Package 2022 Pakistan Price

6th Step – Nahr

After the completion of Rami, on 12th Dhul-Hijjah, Muslim pilgrims advise to perform the sacrifice of an animal; it can be a camel or lamb. For this, pilgrims can either purchase sacrifice coupons or vouchers, stating that the sacrifice will perform on their behalf. The meat of the sacrificed animal distributes to the needy.

7th Step – Farewell Tawaf

After completing the ritual, pilgrims return to the Holy Kaaba in Makkah to perform the “Tawaf al-Ifadah,” also known as the “Farewell Tawaf,” followed by Sa’I. Though this officially marks the end of Hajj, many pilgrims also visit Madinah before heading home.

tax consultants near me
Related posts

How to Check Number of Sims on ID Card Online 2023

Table of Contents How to Check Number of Sims on ID Card Online 2023Through Website– SIMs…
Read more

Pakistan ma Internet Kab Chalu Hoga?

Table of Contents Pakistan ma Internet Kab Chalu Hoga? Pakistan ma Internet Kab Chalu…
Read more

How to Apply for Temporary Work Visa In Dubai 2023?

Table of Contents How to Apply for Temporary Work Visa In Dubai 2023?What is UAE One Mission…
Read more
Subscribe Now

Sign up for  Daily Digest and get the best of News for you.

[contact-form-7 id="11414" title="Contact form 1"]